Skip to content

KOPT (OR A COPTIC WOMAN) BY THE CONTEMPORARY HUNHARIAN ARTIST, KORNÉLIA BOGDÁNDY

July 30, 2012

Kopt by the Hungarian artist Kornélia Bogdándy (b. 1955)

Kornélia Bogdándy is a contemporary Hungarian artist, who was born in 1955, and is interested in archaeology, and it seems she has been influenced by Roman art, particularly the Fayum Portraits.

I found for her one piece of art of titled Kopt (Copt), which is 48 x 99 cm. I tried to find more about the artist and this painting but, unfortunately, couldn’t. I, therefore, decided to simply reproduce Kopt to my readers until I find more about the artist and her beautiful piece of art.

Kopt is clearly of a woman, a beautiful one, who has all the physiognomic features of a Copt but also their cultural underpinnings, and who is dressed in a Roman-Byzantine garment from Late Antiquity. I really like it, and I, therefore, wanted to share it with my readers.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

