Skip to content

COPTIC NATIVITY BY THE AMERICAN ARTIST DOUG DUFFEY

March 26, 2013

Doug Duffey is a contemporary American artist from Louisiana, U.S., whose biography on his website describes him as “Best known as a singer/songwriter, pianist, and international recording and concert artist [inducted into the Louisiana Hall of Fame -and the National Blues Hall of Fame] he is also a serious multi genre visual artist. ‘Analog’ mediums include collage [as in paper & glue], drawing, painting, photography, mixed media; digital mediums: digital drawings, digital collage [photo montage/combine] digital scans [photographs] and video.”[1] On digital drawings, he says: “In my drawings, I am heavily influenced by my Louisiana culture, heritage, traditions, every day life and scenery; especially New Orleans, the French Quarter, Mardi Gras, Bourbon Street, Halloween, the Day of the Dead, festivals, religious and voodoo imagery, southern funkiness, etc. Having also lived in Europe for 20 years, I am also influenced by the street scenes, bar, cabaret, and cafe scenes, as well as landscapes and their carnivals and different cultures. Almost all digital drawings are done with a mouse, on my laptop, in Photoshop. Some are done on my cell phone or g-pad, using either my finger or stylus, uploaded to my laptop and edited in Photoshop.”[2]

I found this digital photography by him, which is titled “Coptic Nativity”, which he produced in 2010:

coptic nativity

I can’t make my mind about it. It does not strike one as Coptic, and seems to be influenced more by black Louisiana culture than Coptic art. But it is nonetheless very interesting and beautiful. I am sure an explanatory note by the artist on the circumstances that led him to do this fascinating work will add to its beauty.

Update 27 March 2013:

I emailed the American artist Doug Duffey and asked him about his connection with the Copts and what inspired him to do this beautiful piece of art “Coptic Nativity”, and he kindly responded by these explanatory words:

I have always been fascinated by the Copts, since discovering them decades ago. I’ve been a lover of ancient Egyptian art since my youth. I’ve also studied old religions and religious art. The Copts religious art, their liturgical dress, their rituals [and the possibility of them being the keepers of ‘the ark of the covenant’] makes them very intriguing to me; as is that they were the first Egyptian Christians

as for the inspirations behind my Coptic pieces- they are more imaginary- as I have never been into a Coptic church- although I have been in Egypt. Icons play a role in the imagination as well, having looked at many online.

Doug Duffey has even sent me an image of another excellent piece of art by him, “Coptic Christus”, which I will put up on this blog in a separate article.


[2] Ibid.

Leave a Reply

